Saturday, March 6, 2010

Grief - Miserably Ever After

1996, Theologian Records

1. One Of Those Days (3:23)
2. Low Life (7:24)
3. Nuisance (5:54)
4. Angry Man (4:53)
5. Miserably Ever After (9:23)
6. Straight Edge - Closed Mind (6:20)
7. Why Should I Care (6:38)
8. I Hate The Human Race (2:30)
9. Trust (10:55)

Grief was founded in 1991 by Terry Savastano and drummer Randy Odierno of Disrupt. Grief’s sludgy doom metal brought extremely slow riffs to the metal underground. The band was heavily influenced by Black Sabbath, Eyehategod and doom warriors Saint Vitus. Grief’s music was jagged, noisy, harsh and brutally dissonant. Lead singer Jeff Hayward favored the sort of tortured, throat-shredding, screaming vocals that were quite common in death metal/black metal and grindcore, and that risk-taking combination of torturous vocals and slow, Sabbath-influenced riffs made Grief one of the more influential Sludge/Doom metal bands to emerge in the early ‘90s.

They broke up in 2001 mainly due to drummer problems - something that was an ongoing problem for the band from the start. They also cited what they called a “hostile environment for doom metal bands”. They reunited briefly in July 2005 to play a cluster of reunion shows.

The band had several 7”s including one with Dystopia and Corrupted each. A compilation album called Turbulent Times appeared in 2002 through Southern Lord. The group reunited for one show at the first annual New England Grind And Doom Fest on July 17, 2005 at The Middle East Cafe in Cambridge, MA. They were so excited by the response to this show that they began booking others, and they toured intermittently throughout 2005 and 2006.

In 2005, the band played shows through in venues including The Ace of Clubs and The Knitting Factory in New York, The Khyber in Philadelphia, O’Brien’s in Allston/Brighton, MA, The Living Room in Providence, RI, and Cherry St. Station in CT.

In 2006 Southern Lord Records released a full length live album called Alive which featured their performance at the Middle East in November 2005. The album features artwork by Eric C. Harrison, who did much of the band’s painted cover artwork.

Grief’s final appearance was at Emissions from the Monolith 8, a sludge/doom festival that took place in Ohio, May 2006.

The band reformed in 2008 and toured the United States and Europe, but they soon disbanded again in March 2009.


No comments:

Post a Comment