Saturday, March 6, 2010

Dinosaur Jr. - You're Living All Over Me

1987, SST Records

1. Little Fury Things (3:07)
2. Kracked (2:51)
3. Sludgefest (5:17)
4. The Lung (3:51)
5. Raisans (3:51)
6. Tarpit (4:36)
7. In a Jar (3:29)
8. Lose (3:11)
9. Poledo (5:44)
10. Just Like Heaven (Bonus Track) (2:54)

Dinosaur Jr. is an American alternative rock, stoner rock, sludge band formed in Amherst, Massachusetts in 1984. Originally called Dinosaur prior to legal issues that forced the group to change their name, the band disbanded in 1997 until reuniting in 2005. Guitarist J Mascis, bassist Lou Barlow and drummer Murph were the band's founding and current members; Mascis has been the group's sole continuous member.

Their distinct sound, characterized by high gain, extensive use of feedback and distortion, and frontman J Mascis's melodic guitar solos, was highly influential in the alternative rock movement of the 1990s.

You're Living All Over Me is the second album by the American indie rock band Dinosaur Jr., released in 1987 on SST Records. The album was named after a line uttered by frontman J. Mascis while on tour with the band.

In 2005, it was ranked 31 in Spin's "100 Greatest Albums, 1985-2005". "Poledo" is unique from the rest of the album in that half of it is a lo-fi recording of Lou Barlow singing and playing ukulele, much like his own group Sebadoh, while the other half is a collection of sound collages and abstract noise pieces.

The album was originally issued when the band were still known as Dinosaur, before a lawsuit forced the name change to Dinosaur Jr. The album was recalled by SST a few months after release, and new copies were printed crediting the band as Dinosaur Jr.



1 comment: