Thursday, November 5, 2009

Earth - Sunn Amps and Smashed Guitars

2001, No Quarter Records

1. Ripped on Fascist Ideas (31:19)
2. Geometry of Murder (7:22)
3. German Dental Work (5:20)
4. Divine and Bright (3:02)
5. Dissolution 1 (7:11)
6. Bureaucratic Desire For Revenge (13:36)
7. Orouboros (9:16)

Earth is an American musical group based in Seattle, Washington, formed in 1990 and led by guitarist Dylan Carlson.

Earth's early work is recognized as pioneering the genre of drone doom — an experimental offshoot of doom metal, characterized by droning, minimalist, lengthy, and repetitive structures. Earth's early albums could be seen as a variation of the experimental doom-influenced metal of The Melvins.

Sunn Amps and Smashed Guitars is a live album by Earth, originally released in 1995 by Blast First Records. It contained the track "Ripped on Fascist Ideas" (recorded in London, May 1995). It was re-released in 2001 by No Quarter Records with four bonus tracks taken from a 1990 demo. Kurt Cobain and Kelly Canary contribute guest vocals on the track "Divine and Bright".

Four-piece instrumental band, Pelican, covered the song "Geometry of Murder" on their "Ephemeral" EP.



No comments:

Post a Comment